SAM BATTIG: I’M TOO BUSY FAKING THIS

***

by Sam Battig

 ***

I guess I was born to be intoxicated with hope;

Sometimes it’s a journey most of the time –

It’s just a bad joke.

 *

And every day it gets less and less exciting;

I would make a difference,

But I’m busy faking this.

 *

Instead of trying,

Change my shift from now to never,

And I’ll pretend I’m fine.

 *

Why am I always stuck at the shitty end of the assembly line?

 ***

WHO IS SAM BATTIG?

I met Sam at Bank of America,  where he works as a teller.  I see him almost every day.  He is a hard worker, efficient and amicable.  He is well-liked and respected by his colleagues.

I recently learned that he is an aspiring poet.  He leaves his poems on the desks of his co-workers in an attempt to encourage them and brighten their day.  With Sam’s permission I am posting his work for a wider audience.

Tags: ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

