FINAL THOUGHTS TO MY RECENT POSTS REGARDING DR. WALTER T. BROWN

*

I worshipped at Prescott OPC this past Lord’s Day.  I perused their library before Sunday School (actually it was a prayer time) and found this old video in a heap of books on the lower shelf. When I expressed an interest  Reverend Perkins said I could take it home. Therefore I am adding it to the Video Vault for all to see. 

https://nickvoss.wordpress.com/tag/walter-t-brown/

The speaker’s credentials:

  • PhD in mechanical engineering from MIT
  • National Science Foundation Fellow at MIT
  • Air Force full colonel
  • West Point graduate
  • Army Ranger
  • Paratrooper
  • Director of Benét Laboratories (a major research, development, and engineering facility)
  • Tenured professor at the U.S. Air Force Academy
  • Chief of Science and Technology Studies at the Air War College
  • Former evolutionist, now six-day and young earth creationist

I actually knew Dr. Brown.  We met while I was a student at Phoenix College. Out of the blue I asked if I could interview him for a term paper I was planning to write on the age of the earth. He readily accepted and he even invited me over to his house.   Dr. Brown was the one who convinced me that I should change my major to mathematics, which I did.  (Oh, and before I forget, my professor wrote on the front page of my Age of the Earth paper that she wished she could give me more than the possible 100% grade because she thought it was meticulously documented and thoroughly researched). 

Dr. Brown and I continued to correspond throughout my missionary career.  While studying theology at William Tyndale in Detroit I wrote a paper on creationism which my professor, Dr. King (now deceased), who was a recent PhD graduate from Oxford University, England, criticized. I sent my graded paper to Dr. Brown who said all of Dr. King’s critical remarks about the science in my paper were “vacuous.”  I thought it ironic at the time that an MIT scientist would applaud the six-day, young earth paper — yet the theologian from Oxford would scoff at it.  One would think that it should be the other way around.  Why is it that we have to defend our six-day, young-earth creation views against the ridicule of …. theologians?  Meanwhile, there are Christian scientists, men with serious credentials,  who are insisting that we should be defending the six-day, young earth position, and there is adequate evidence to back us up.  Should I now start to laugh or cry?

I also did some work for Dr. Brown in the late 1980s.  He wanted some way he could click a button and project images at random during the Q&A session. At the time I was systems engineer for Presentations, Inc. and worked up some quotes to use a wireless device with a laser disk so that he could find images pertaining to the topic < 1 second (this was super cutting edge stuff at the time). It was too costly so he abandoned it.

He gave a seminar at Bethany Bible Church to a packed house – I witnessed people having spats over front row seats.  The moment they opened the doors people rushed in as though they were going to a moonlight madness sale that you read about in the papers where people get into fist fights.

Did you notice Dr. Brown lives in Phoenix?  His house is not too far from James White’s church

I met his wife, too.  She struck me as one of those ladies that loved her husband more than anything else.  I recall that she was very beautiful and graceful — a real Nancy Reagan type.

*

Tags: ,

6 Comments on “FINAL THOUGHTS TO MY RECENT POSTS REGARDING DR. WALTER T. BROWN”

  1. Darliane July 21, 2012 at 2:57 AM #

    your blog site is really awesome!

  2. Cheri-CreationScience4Kids July 21, 2012 at 11:09 AM #

    I just ran into your blog while searching “creation” on WordPress. I’ve read all of Dr. Brown’s In The Beginning book online, now I’ll have to read through all your older posts about him! God is good.🙂

  3. Daisy August 3, 2012 at 11:21 AM #

    excellent information. i have learned quite a few very helpful information from your blog. thank you very much.

  4. Chico Guziarra August 16, 2012 at 11:41 AM #

    this is a cool stuff…

  5. Diego Fogerty August 18, 2012 at 6:50 PM #

    You absolutely come with wonderful posts.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Plethora of Posts! People are special, Heaven, Logic and Faith, & More « creationscience4kids - July 21, 2012

    […] a series of posts about Dr. Brown, so I just caught it!  Here’s the post I ran into: FINAL THOUGHTS TO MY RECENT POSTS REGARDING DR. WALTER T. BROWN.  I’ll have to see if I can watch the videos (my computer can be persnickety on media […]

Leave a Reply

